Dragon Tat

April 24, 2010

It’s been almost a year since i first met with Tony about getting a dragon tattoo.  I wanted to get one for my 30th birthday, but it took me two years to finally decide what and where–a dragon on my thigh.  Sunday marked my final session.  It took a total of 15 hours and 5 sittings. 

Many people ask me if it hurts.  In some ways, it is hard for me to answer this question.  Of course it hurts.  Multiple needles are puncturing your dermis with pigmentation.  But pain can be easily ignored, forgotten even, especially when the artist plays good music and talks to you while he works.  It’s all about focus. 

The knee was probably the most painful spot, especially the back of your knee, where the skin is thin.  Overall, I think it tickled more than it hurt, actually.  I am *very* ticklish and caught myself trying not to giggle too much for fear i’d make him mess up the design.

I’m still trying to get used to it.  I even see it differently than everyone else since i’m looking upside down on it whereas everyone else sees it right-side up.  My favorite part is the jade-green eyes.    I thought about naming him, but i can’t think of anything appropriate.  I guess he’ll just have to tell me himself someday.

One Response to “Dragon Tat”

  1. A Says:

    i just wanna see it in person!


Leave a Reply

